Oct 02, 2023  
2023-2024 Catalog 
2023-2024 Catalog

Department of Physical Education and Athletics Faculty

Note: For all faculty listings in this section of the catalog, the year when a faculty member joined the Academy staff follows each name. Other information includes the individual’s faculty rank, degrees earned, where obtained, professional licenses held, and military affiliation. In a department that includes more than one discipline, the faculty member’s area of specialization is indicated.

Superscripts used in this listing are:

1faculty member has received the Academy’s Vice Admiral Gordon McLintock Award for Exemplary Leadership
2faculty member has received the Academy’s Sue Alice McNulty Award for Distinguished Teaching.
3faculty member has received the Captain C.A. Prosser Award for Student Service.
4faculty member has held command at sea of an unlimited tonnage vessel.

Department Head

Kristofer Schnatz (2019)
B.S., SUNY Maritime College
M.S., Valparaiso University

Assistant Department Head

CAPT William Fell, USMS (2004)
B.S., U.S. Naval Academy
M.S., Troy State University

Professional Faculty

Rob Alfheim (2004)
B.S., Sacred Heart University
M.S., Northern Illinois University

Louis Bernardi (2018)
B.S., New York Institute of Technology

Daniel Braut (2012)
B.S., Towson University
M.S., California University of Pennsylvania

Jeffrey Broadwell (2011)
B.A., University of Washington

Beau Bruno (2009)
B.S., Binghamton University
M.S., Fordham University

John Cavanaugh (1980)
B.S., Long Island University- Post (dual degrees)
M.Ed., Long Island University- Post

Jameson Croall (2012)
B.S., Springfield College
M.S., Springfield College

Matt Dempsey (2008)
B.S., Castleton State College
M.A., Castleton State College

Melinda Eng (2001)
B.S., Hofstra University
M.S., Wagner College

Joseph Guster (2014)
B.S., St. John’s University
M.B.A., St. John’s University

Daniel Gwyther (2020)
B.S., University of Buffalo
M.A., University of Cambridge

James Kikel (2016)
B.S., Springfield College
M.S., Springfield College

Eugene Kobilansky (2022)
B.S., New York University

Kayla Koelbel (2020)
B.S., SUNY Cortland
M.S., SUNY Cortland

LT Johan C. Lopez, USMS (2013)
B.S., CUNY Lehman College
M.S., Southern New Hampshire University

Drew McCarthy (2012)
B.S., SUNY Maritime College
M.A., Stony Brook University

Carlos Mendes (2021)
B.S., Old Dominion University

Maegan Meritz (2016)
B.A., Stony Brook University

Jason Miller (2022)
B.S., Springfield College
M.Ed., Springfield College

Michael Notebaert (2007)
B.S., Ithaca College
M.B.A., Dowling College

Dan Paccione (2022)
B.S., University of Massachusetts

Harrison Passante (2021)
B.S., St. Joseph’s

Robert Pryor (2017)
B.S., United States Air Force Academy
M.B.A., College of William & Mary
M.A., University of Colorado at Colorado Springs

William Razzano (2022)
B.S., SUNY Cortland

Louis Scala (2022)
B.S., Long Island University
M.S., Long Island University

Alexa Shields (2008)
B.S., The College of New Jersey
M.A., Rutgers University

Kyle Simensky (2012)
B.S., SUNY Cortland
M.A., Adelphi University

Michael Smolens (1990)
B.S., - Springfield College
M.A., - Adelphi University

Grant Soffer (2023)
B.S., St. John’s University
M.B.A., Western New Mexico University

CDR Sean Tedesco, USMS (2001)
B.S., University of Connecticut
M.B.A., Adelphi University

Daniel Unverzagt (2012)
B.S., Northern Vermont University
M.S., Manhattan College